Town of Newmarket


Special Council - Final Meeting of Council 2014-2018

Meeting #:
Council Chambers
Municipal Offices
395 Mulock Drive
Newmarket, ON L3Y 4X7
Members Present:
  • Mayor Van Bynen
  • Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor Taylor
  • Councillor Vegh
  • Councillor Kerwin
  • Councillor Twinney
  • Councillor Hempen
  • Councillor Broome
  • Councillor Bisanz
Members Absent:
  • Councillor Kwapis
Staff Present:
  • R. N Shelton, Chief Administrative Officer
  • E. Armchuk, Commissioner of Corporate Services
  • P. Noehammer, Commissioner of Development & Infrastructure Services
  • I. McDougall, Commissioner of Community Services
  • L. Lyons, Director of Legislative Services/Town Clerk
  • A. Walkom, Legislative Coordinator

Mayor Van Bynen acknowledged the land that Newmarket is on and thanked the first people of the Williams Treaties First Nations and other indigenous peoples for sharing the land with us. He also acknowledged the Chippewas of Georgina Island as the closest Indigenous community.

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest.

  • Moved by:Councillor Hempen
    Seconded by:Councillor Kerwin
    1. That the Council meeting minutes of September 24, 2018 be approved.

    Carried (8 to 0)

(1) Councillor Vegh advised that the first public meeting regarding the 2019 budget would be held at a Committee of the Whole meeting Monday, December 10, 2018 at 10:00 AM.

(2) Councillor Kerwin advised that the Elman W. Campbell Museum will be holding a Christmas event on Saturday, December 1, 2018 from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM.

(3) Councillor Twinney advised that the Town of Newmarket is hosting its first Stakeholder Advisory Group meeting to develop a business case for the Newmarket Energy Efficiency Retrofit program, a component of the Community Energy Plan. The first meeting will be held Thursday, November 29, 2018 from 6:30 PM to 9:00 PM at the Municipal Offices, 395 Mulock Drive.

(4) Councillor Hempen advised of the winter events which will be returning to Riverwalk Commons including Winter Wonderland, Frozen Fridays and the Newmarket Ice Lounge.

(5) Councillor Broome invited residents to donate to the annual Holiday Toy and Food Drive, with donations being collected in the lobby of the Municipal Offices at 395 Mulock Drive until December 12, 2018 at 3:00 PM.

(6) Councillor Bisanz advised that yard week collection ends November 30, 2018.

(7) Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor Taylor advised of a Public Information Centre regarding Bill 36 Cannabis Legislation which is scheduled for Wednesday, December 12, 2018 from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM at the Newmarket Municipal Offices.

(8) Mayor Van Bynen announced that the Town of Newmarket recently received three awards from MarCom Awards – Platinum for the 2016-2017 Community Report, and Platinum and Gold in separate categories for the Safety Starts with You: Cycling Safety Video Series. The Town of Newmarket also received honourable mention at the Creative City Summit 2018 for the Award of Excellence for the Town of Newmarket’s Inaugural National 10 Minute Play Festival in 2017. 

(9) Mayor Van Bynen advised that the Inaugural Council Meeting for the 2018-2022 term is Monday, December 3, 2018 at 7:00 PM at Old Town Hall, 460 Botsford Street.


Mayor Van Bynen summarized the achievements of the past term of Council and thanked the two departing Members of Council for their service.

Councillor Hempen thanked Members of Council, Town Staff and his family for their support over his two terms on Council.

Councillor Kerwin spoke on his career on Council and gave thanks to his family and Newmarket residents.

Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor Taylor spoke on Mayor Van Bynen's career on Council and thanked him for his service.

Mayor Van Bynen thanked Council Members and his family for their support throughout his time on Council.

Mayor Van Bynen spoke on Chief Administrative Officer Shelton's long career with the Town of Newmarket and congratulated him on his retirement.

  • 2018-56 - A By-law to Confirm the Proceedings of the November 26, 2018 Council meeting

    Moved by:Councillor Kerwin
    Seconded by:Councillor Hempen
    1. That By-law 2018-56 be enacted.

  • Moved by:Councillor Hempen
    Seconded by:Councillor Kerwin
    1. That the meeting adjourn at 7:49 PM.