Moor, Linda

From: Sent: To: Subject: Attachments: Clerks September-22-16 8:22 AM Moor, Linda FW: Newmarket Council Q. Town Resolution Autism Shelburne.pdf; Ontario Municipalities Supporters.docx

From: GUY MISENER [mailto:guy.misener@rogers.com] Sent: September-21-16 7:01 PM To: Clerks Subject: Newmarket Council Q.

Good day!

We're tracking a Resolution about improving Ontario's Intensive Therapy funding/services for Children with Autism.

The attached May 9th Shelburne Resolution was sent to all Ontario municipalities. To date, 111 (list also attached) have supported that resolution or a variation.

If your Council has already passed a supporting resolution, please let us know; and, we express gratitude on behalf of thousands of Ontario families for your influential message.

If a decision is pending, be assured that your Council's endorsement will send a strong statement to the Premier that our children with autism need therapy NOW, not just promises and announcements. Autistic children's futures depend on today's decisions. Intensive therapy sounds expensive – about \$50,000/year per child – but it is an investment to ensure greater independence as an adult, compared to a group home placement cost of \$100,000/year for an adult. Intensive therapy is currently the <u>only clinically proven therapy</u> for autism.

We would be happy to provide more information or answer any questions Council may have prior to making a decision on this resolution.

Thanking you in advance for your help, and hopefully your Council's support, Sincerely,

Kelly McDowell, Shelburne Mom, and Sandra Misener, Mount Albert Mom (guy.misener@rogers.com)



TOWN OF SHELBURNE

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

No. __10_

Date: May 9, 2016

Moved by: Wade Mills

Seconded by: Dan Sample

WHEREAS, Autism Spectrum Disorder is now recognized as the most common neurological disorder affecting 1 in every 94 children, as well as their friends, family and community; and

WHEREAS, Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA) is the scientific process based on objective evaluation and empirically based interventions used to achieve meaningful, generalizable and enduring behaviourial change. Intensive Behavioural Intervention (IBI) is an application of the principles of ABA in an intensive setting used to affect behaviour change and improvement; and

WHEREAS, the current walting list of children for Intensive Behaviour Intervention (IBI) is over 2,000 and more than 13,000 children await Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA); and

WHEREAS, the Province of Ontario has announced it intends to discontinue IBI services to children over the age of four and provide a one-time payment to assist with services, thereby abandoning thousands who have been wait-listed for years; and

WHEREAS, there are two service models for affected children to be treated, 1) the Direct Service Offering (DSO) where children receive services directly from trained staff at Ontario's nine regional service providers, and 2) the Direct Funding Offering (DFO) where parents receive funding directly in order to purchase services; and

WHEREAS, the DFO model to provide services is used in Alberta, British Columbia and imminently Saskatchewan. Such a model is clinically rigorous and has been identified by the Auditor General of Ontario as being less expensive than Ontario's DSO model;

THEREFORE, be it resolved that a letter be sent to Hon. Tracy MacCharles, Minister of Children and Youth Services; Alexander Bezzina, Deputy Minister; Hon. Eric Hoskins, Minister of Health; and Hon. Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario, requesting the Province to:

1. Amend its policy to one that will allow all children on the current waiting list to receive the IBI services promised them; and

2. Remove the age limit for IBI therapy and replace it with a program that provides ongoing IBI services based on need and individual development, not age; and

3. Ensure oversight by professionals and parents based on 'development progress' criteria and milestones; and 4. Adopt a Direct Funding Offering (DFO) model in lieu of the current Direct Service Offering (DSO) model;

AND FURTHER THAT a copy of this resolution be forwarded to all municipalities within the Province of Ontario.

CARRIED: K. Bennington

[X]Yes []No

	Yea	Nay
Mayor Bennington	[X]	[]]
Councillor Benotto	īχ]	Î]
Councillor Chambers	[Absent]	ÎĴ
Deputy Mayor Dunlop	[X]	ĒĴ
Councillor Egan	[Absent]	ĒĴ
Councillor Mills	[X]	Ī
Councillor Sample	[X]	[]

Ontario Municipalities – Supporters – Autism Resolution

111 as of Sept. 21/2016.

Addington Highlands, Township of Adelaide Metcalfe, Township of Admaston/Bromley, Township of Aiax. Town of Amaranth, Township of Amherstburg, Town of Arnprior, Town of Asphodel-Norwood, Township of Aylmer, Town of Belleville, City of Black River-Matheson, Township of Blue Mountains, Town of the (Thornbury) Bonfield, Township of Bradford West Gwillimbury, Town of Brockville, City of Brooke-Alvinston, Municipality of Bruce, County of Caledon, Town of Casselman, Village of Carlow/Mayo, Township of Central Huron, Municipality of Chamberlain, Township of Champlain, Township of Chisholm, Township of Clarington, Municipality of Cornwall, City of Cramahe, Township of Dufferin, County of Durham, Regional Municipality of East Gwillimbury, Town of Emo, Township of Englehart, Town of Erin, Town of Espanola, Town of Faraday, Township of Fauguier-Strickland, Township of Fort Erie, Town of Gananoque, Town of Gillies, Township of

Grand Valley, Town of Grey, County of Grey Highlands, Municipality of Halton Hills, Town of Hamilton, City of Hastings Highlands, County of Hawkesbury, Town of Hilton Beach, Village of Huron East, Municipality of Huron-Kinloss, Township of Huron Shores, Municipality of James, Township of Kincardine, Municipality of King, Township of Kirkland Lake, Town of Laird, Township of Lambton, County of LaSalle, Town of Laurentian Hills, Town of La Vallee, Township of Leeds and Grenville, United Counties of Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Township of Lennox and Addington, County of Lovalist, Township of Machin, Township of Macdonald, Meredith & Aberdeen Additional, Township of Madawaska Valley, Township of McKellar, Township of Melancthon, Township of Milton, Town of Mississauga, City of Mono, Town of Mulmur, Township of Muskoka Lakes, Township of Nairn and Hyman, Township of Nation, Municipality of the Neebing, Muncipality of New Tecumseth, Town of Niagara Falls, City of Norwich, Township of Northeastern Manitoulin and the Islands, Town of Northern Bruce Peninsula, Municipality of

O'Connor, Township of Oakville, Town of Oil Springs, Village of Orangeville, Town of Oshawa, City of Parry Sound, Town of Pickering, City of Plummer Additional. Township of Port Colborne, City of Prescott and Russell, United Counties of Prince, Township of Richmond Hill, Town of Ryerson, Township of Scugog, Township of Severn, Township of Shelburne, Town of Smooth Rock Falls, Town of Southgate, Township of Strong, Township of St. Catharines, City of Tecumseh, Town of Thessalon, Town of Tweed, Municipality of Uxbridge, Township of Warwick, Township of Welland, City of West Grey, Municipality of West Perth, Municipality of Whitby, Town of Woolwich, Township of