Municipal Committee for OMB Reform

March 23, 2016.

Dear Mayor and Members of Council,

We have recently organized a Committee comprised of elected officials from 12 municipalities in order to facilitate a Municipal Summit investigating OMB reform. This Summit, scheduled for Saturday, May 14, 2016, and consisting of elected municipal officials, will lay the groundwork for meaningful discussion regarding the need for reform within the Ontario Municipal Board: We intend to focus on ways and means to reform the "powers and process" of the Board relative to municipal jurisdiction.

The response to the formation of this Committee has been remarkable. Within the first week of sending out the invitation to Greater Golden Horseshoe municipal politicians for the May Summit, we received confirmation of attendance from 39 different municipalities. We are encouraged that the interest in proposed OMB reform is strong and continues to gain momentum across the province.

The City of Markham has agreed to host the venue for the day-long Summit and will make a cash contribution to help us offset related costs.

Therefore, we are reaching out to all area municipalities asking for a nominal donation to assist us in providing refreshments for the day and help defray all associated administrative costs. Your participation herein would be greatly appreciated.

Should you wish to contribute, please make cheques payable to the "City of Markham" which will be responsible for the financial accounting for the Summit.

Should you have any questions or require clarification, please do not hesitate to contact me at TMrakas@Aurora.ca or 289-879-2176.

With our thanks in advance,

Tom Mrakas - Aurora.

On behalf of The Municipal Committee for OMB Reform

OMB Reform Working Group Committee Members

- Tom Mrakas (Aurora)
- Michael Thompson (Aurora)
- Richard Carpenter (Brantford)
- Nicholas Ermata (Cambridge)
- Frank Sebo (Georgina)
- Cathy Downer (Guelph)
- Yvonne Fernandes (Kitchener)
- Karen Rea (Markham)
- Nirmala Armstrong (Markham)
- Don Hemilton (Merkham)
- Christina Bisanz (Newmarket)
- Karen Cilevitz (Richmond Hill)
- David West (Richmond Hill)
- Pat Malloy (Uxbridge)
- Marilyn lafrate
 (Vaughan)
- Alan Shefman (Vaughan)
- Mary Ann Grimeldi (Welland)
- Steve Yamada (Whitby)