WHEREAS the Regional Municipality of York (the "Region of York") was established in 1971 when the population of York Region was only 169, 000 residents;

AND WHEREAS the population has increased to 1.2 million residents with a \$3 billion dollar annual budget, including 1.2 billion for capital projects.

AND WHEREAS the head of the council, the "Regional Chair", is an appointed position by Members of Regional Council, pursuant to the applicable legislation;

AND WHEREAS the Regional Chair position presides over Policing, Regional Planning, Public Housing, Public Transportation, Water Services, Emergency Services, and Roads, and other Regional Services;

AND WHEREAS, in 2003, a second option was introduced under subsection 218(1) of the Municipal Act, 2001 (the "Act"), which permits the head of council of an upper-tier municipality, to be "elected by general vote", in accordance with the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, as an alternative to appointment by Regional Council, subject to the process set out in the Act;

AND WHEREAS the current process of appointment, deprives residents of an opportunity to participate in a democratic process of electing a senior government official for the Regional Municipality of York;

AND WHEREAS, the Town of Newmarket is committed to transparency and accountability in governance;

AND WHEREAS, Private Member's Bill 42, The Municipal Amendment Act (Election of Chair of York Region), 2014, tabled by Chris Ballard, MPP Newmarket-Aurora, proposes revisions to subsection 218(1) of the Municipal Act, 2001 that require the Regional Chair to be elected by a general vote in accordance with the Municipal Elections Act, 1996;

AND WHEREAS Bill 42 has passed second reading, and referred to the Standing Committee on the Legislative Assembly;

## NOW THEREFORE IT BE RESOLVED:

THAT The Town of Newmarket express its support for Bill 42, and request the Province of Ontario to pass Bill 42 to enable the election of the Regional Chair by general voting beginning with the 2018 Municipal Election; and,

THAT this motion be sent to The Honourable Kathleen Wynne, Premier of Ontario, The Honourable Ted McMeekin, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Patrick Brown, Leader of the Opposition, Andrea Horwath, Leader of the NDP, All York Region MPP's and all York Region Municipalities.