

Town of Newmarket

Minutes

Main Street District Business Improvement Area Board of Management

Date: Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Time: 7:00 PM

Location: Serpa Studio

Old Town Hall

460 Botsford Street

Newmarket, ON L3Y 1T1

BIA Board Members Glenn Wilson, Chair

Present: Councillor Kwapis

Anne Martin Peter Mertens Olga Paiva

Carmina Pereira Jackie Playter Rory Rodrigo Sigfried Wall

BIA Board Members Eliza

Elizabeth Buslovich

Absent:

Staff Present: C. Kallio, Economic Development Officer

E. Bryan, Business Development Specialist

K. Saini, Deputy Town Clerk

S. Niezen, Records & Project Coordinator A. Walkom, Council Committee Coordinator

BIA Members and Corporate Nominees

Present:

Leona Brown Michele Brunet

Grant Buckley

Heather Burling

Patricia Carmichael

Rob Clark

Todd Claydon

Allan Cockburn

Ness Daniel

Boris Fong

Steven Gilbert

Ted Heald

Elisabeth Hempen

Kirsten Hempen

Tom Hempen

Debbie Hill

Mark lacovetta

Anna Jafari

Theresa Kelly

Jennifer McLachlan

Omar Saer

Chris Sorley

Vickie Sparks

Tracey Tibando

Ashley Torgis

Janet Walker

Michael Walshe

Pete Webster

Penny Zielinski

Tom Zielinski

1. Welcome and Introductions

Glenn Wilson provided an introduction to the meeting.

2. Approval of Minutes

Moved by: Elisabeth Hempen

Seconded by: Allan Cockburn

1. That the minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting be approved.

Carried

3. 2017 Financial Statements

Glenn Wilson provided an overview of the BIA's financial statements for 2017.

Moved by: Jennifer McLachlan

Seconded by: Peter Webster

1. That the Main Street District Business Improvement Area Board of Management financial statements for the year ended 2017 be approved.

Carried

4. 2018 Review

Glenn Wilson provided an overview of the events held by the BIA in 2018. This included the Easter event in April, the Mothers Day event in May, Canada Day, Halloween, the Candlelight Parade, and the Christmas Party.

Glenn Wilson outlined the sponsorship efforts of the BIA in 2018, which included the 10 Minute Play Festival and the York Region Festival of One Act Plays.

Glenn Wilson advised that a new budget would not be set at this meeting, as the new BIA board will set the budget in the new term. He congratulated the outgoing board on the work that had been accomplished over the term.

5. Nomination for Board of Management

5.1 Current Nominees: Introduction of Candidates

Each candidate introduced themselves to the BIA members.

5.2 Additions and Deletions to Nominees

The Deputy Clerk provided a verbal presentation regarding the nomination process. She read aloud the list of current nominees and called upon those present for any additional nominations. She read aloud the list and called for nominations a second and third final time. The nominations were closed and the vote was opened.

Peter Webster was appointed by the members as a scrutineer during the voting process.

Legislative Services staff tallied the votes and the following individuals were chosen by ballot:

Thomas Hempen

Rob Clark

Allan Cockburn

Jennifer McLachlan

Mark lacovetta

Debbie Hill

Rory Rodrigo

Omar Saer

Ken Sparks

A runoff ballot was prepared due to a three-way tie between Rory Rodrigo, Omar Saer, and Ken Sparks; and a second round of voting was opened. The following individuals were chosen by the second ballot:

Omar Saer

Ken Sparks

The following individuals formed the final list of nominees selected by ballot:

Thomas Hempen

Rob Clark

Allan Cockburn

Jennifer McLachlan

Mark lacovetta

Debbie Hill

Omar Saer

Ken Sparks

The Deputy Clerk advised of Council's authority to appoint members to the BIA Board of Management. She advised that the nominees would be considered by the Town of Newmarket Appointment Committee before appointment by Council in early 2019.

Glenn Wilson provided closing remarks to the meeting. Councillor Kwapis thanked the BIA membership for their attendance at the meeting and also thanked the outgoing BIA Board members for their service.

6.	Adjournment	
	The meeting adjourned at 8:55 PM.	
		Chair
		Date