Town of Newmarket


Inaugural Meeting of Council

Meeting #:
Old Town Hall
460 Botsford Street
Newmarket, ON L3Y 1T1
Members Present:
  • Mayor Taylor
  • Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor Vegh
  • Councillor Simon
  • Councillor Woodhouse
  • Councillor Twinney
  • Councillor Morrison
  • Councillor Broome
  • Councillor Bisanz
Members Absent:
  • Councillor Kwapis
Staff Present:
  • E. Armchuk, Acting Chief Administrative Officer
  • P. Noehammer, Commissioner of Development & Infrastructure Services
  • I. McDougall, Commissioner of Community Services
  • L. Lyons, Director of Legislative Services/Town Clerk
  • K. Saini, DeputyTown Clerk
  • J. Grossi, Legislative Coordinator
  • A. Walkom, Legislative Coordinator

The Members of Council were led by other dignitaries in the procession to the Council table.

The Voices of Joy Choir led the assembly in the singing of the National Anthem.

The following faith leaders said a prayer of invocation:

Miriam Youngchief
Father Efren Alvarez-Pelayo
Imam Mohammad Bemat
Rabbi Mendy Grossbaum
Pastor Garry James

The Honourable Justice Peter Tetley administered the Declarations of Office.

Lisa Lyons presented the Chain of Office to Mayor Taylor.

Each Member of Council provided an address and thanked their family members and special guests.

Esther Armchuk, Acting Chief Administrative Officer introduced the members of the Strategic Leadership Team.

Mayor Taylor provided the Inaugural Address.

Mayor Taylor advised that there was no business to attend to and asked for a motion that the meeting be adjourned.

  • Moved by:Councillor Simon
    Seconded by:Councillor Morrison
    1. That the meeting adjourn.

The Members of Council joined other dignitaries in the recessional.

No Item Selected