Town of Newmarket


Council Workshop

Meeting #:
Council Chambers
Municipal Offices
395 Mulock Drive
Newmarket, ON L3Y 4X7
Members Present:
  • Mayor Taylor
  • Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor Vegh
  • Councillor Simon
  • Councillor Woodhouse
  • Councillor Twinney
  • Councillor Morrison
  • Councillor Kwapis
  • Councillor Broome
  • Councillor Bisanz
Staff Present:
  • E. Armchuk, Acting Chief Administrative Officer
  • P. Noehammer, Commissioner of Development & Infrastructure Services
  • I. McDougall, Commissioner of Community Services
  • L. Lyons, Acting Commissioner of Corporate Services
  • K. Saini, Acting Director of Legislative Services/Town Clerk
  • S. Chase, Director, Strategic Initiatives
  • A. Walkom, Legislative Coordinator
  • Trudy Parsons, MDB Insight
    Margot Bégin, MDB Insight

For consideration by Council on April 15, 2019.
The meeting was called to order at 9:01 AM.
Mayor Taylor in the Chair.


Mayor Taylor advised that in accordance with the Town's Procedure By-law, no decisions are to be made but rather this meeting was an opportunity for Council to have informal discussion regarding various matters.


The Commissioner of Community Services provided an introduction to the presentation and introduced Margot Bégin, Senior Consultant, MDB Insights and Trudy Parsons, Executive Vice-President, MDB Insights.

Trudy Parsons provided a presentation to Council. The presentation outlined the strategic planning process and the strategic pillars previously identified by Council. 

Members of Council reviewed the strategic pillars and priorities discussed at the previous Council Workshops, as well as a potential refresh for the Town's vision statement.

The Director, Strategic Initiatives provided a presentation which outlined options for an online Citizen Dashboard.


  • Moved by:Councillor Kwapis
    Seconded by:Councillor Woodhouse
    1. That the presentation regarding Strategic Priority Development be received.

  • Moved by:Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor Vegh
    Seconded by:Councillor Broome
    1. That the meeting be adjourned at 12:11 PM.