

## **Town of Newmarket**

### **Minutes**

# **Special Council**

Date: Monday, June 17, 2019

Time: 8:00 PM

Location: Council Chambers

Municipal Offices 395 Mulock Drive

Newmarket, ON L3Y 4X7

Members Present: Mayor Taylor

Councillor Simon

Councillor Woodhouse Councillor Twinney Councillor Morrison Councillor Kwapis Councillor Bisanz

Members Absent: Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor Vegh

**Councillor Broome** 

Staff Present: I. McDougall, Acting Chief Administrative Officer

E. Armchuk, Commissioner of Corporate Services

P. Noehammer, Commissioner of Development & Infrastructure

Services

K. Saini, Deputy Town Clerk

A. Walkom, Legislative Coordinator

For consideration by Council on June 24, 2019.

The meeting was called to order at 8:37 PM.

Mayor Taylor in the Chair.

#### 1. Additions & Corrections to the Agenda

There were no additions or corrections to the agenda.

#### 2. Declarations of Pecuniary Interest

Councillor Woodhouse declared a conflict in relation to sub-item 5.1 - Appointments to the Newmarket Economic Development Advisory Committee. He advised that one of the recommended applicants was a client and that he would take no part in the discussion of the matter.

#### 3. Deputations

None.

#### 4. Reports of Committees and Staff

# 4.1 Item 2 of the Draft Committee of the Whole Meeting (Closed Session) Minutes of June 20, 2019

Mayor Taylor advised that the Committee of the Whole had previously resolved into a Closed Session related to personal matters about an identifiable individual, including municipal or local board employees as per Section 239 (2) (b) of the Municipal Act, 2001 to discuss appointments to the Audit Committee and the Newmarket Economic Development Advisory Committee. He advised the following motions be brought forward:

4.1.1 Appointments to the Audit Committee

Moved by: Councillor Woodhouse

Seconded by: Councillor Bisanz

 That staff be directed to resume recruitment for Audit Committee members as not enough applications were received and appointments to the Audit Committee be deferred until enough applications have been received.

In Favour (7): Mayor Taylor, Councillor Simon, Councillor Woodhouse, Councillor Twinney, Councillor Morrison, Councillor Kwapis, and Councillor Bisanz

Carried (7 to 0)

4.1.2 Appointments to the Newmarket Economic Development Advisory Committee

Moved by: Councillor Twinney

Seconded by: Councillor Simon

- That the Terms of Reference for the Newmarket Economic Development Advisory Committee be amended to allow up to 13 citizen members; and,
- 2. That the following individuals be appointed to the Newmarket Economic Development Advisory Committee:
- Carin Binder
- Steven Bruno
- Robert Bull
- Marek Dabrowski
- Beric Farmer
- Donna Fevreau
- Pat Horgan
- Brian Johns
- Jessica Rawlley
- Rod Scotland
- Darryl Sills
- Beth Stevenson
- Bri-Ann Stuart (Chamber of Commerce Representative)
- Edmund Yeung

In Favour (6): Mayor Taylor, Councillor Simon, Councillor Twinney, Councillor Morrison, Councillor Kwapis, and Councillor Bisanz

Carried (6 to 0)

Councillor Woodhouse took no part in the discussion or vote on the foregoing matter due to a declared conflict.

#### 5. Closed Session

Mayor Taylor advised that there was no need for a Closed Session.

#### 6. By-laws

	None.		
<b>7</b> .	Confirmatory By-law		
	Moved by:	Councillor Kwapis	
	Seconded by:	Councillor Morrison	
	1. That By-law 2019-40 be enacted.		
			Carried
8.	Adjournment		
	Moved by:	Councillor Twinney	
	Seconded by:	Councillor Kwapis	
	1. That the meeting be adjourned at 8:41 PM.		
			Carried
			John Taylor, Mayor
			Kiran Saini, Deputy Town Clerk
			Milan Saini, Deputy Town Clerk